Earlier this week The Boston Globe released its Globe 100 -- its annual list of the top 100 public companies in Massachusetts, "ranked by composite performance score."

We pay close attention to our neighbors (particularly their inbound marketing needs and practices), so we thought we'd offer an alternative ranking: search engine authority.

We took the The Globe 100, ran their websites through Website Grader, then sorted them according to grade. The results are below (the links will take you to each company's Website Grader report).

So what's the big difference between companies at the top of the list, and those at the bottom?

In a word: content.

Top-ranked Progress Software has almost 8,000 indexed pages. As a result, they have a much better chance of winning the SEO lottery than last-placed MicroFinancial (9 indexed pages). You'll see a similar gap between most top- and bottom-ranked companies.

Progress Software Corp. (www.progress.com) 99.8
Staples (www.staples.com) 99.5
Raytheon Co. (www.raytheon.com) 99.3
EMC Corp. (www.emc.com) 97.6
Parametric Technology Corp. (www.ptc.com) 96.8
Analog Devices (www.analog.com) 96.4
Forrester Research (www.forrester.com) 95.5
Iron Mountain (www.ironmountain.com) 95.5
BJ's Wholesale Club (www.bjs.com) 95.1
Airvana (www.airvana.com) 95.1
Pegasystems (www.pega.com) 94
Sapient Corp. (www.sapient.com) 93
Akamai Technologies (www.akamai.com) 93
Zoll Medical Corp. ( www.zoll.com) 93
NetScout Systems (www.netscout.com) 93
Monotype Imaging Holdings (www.monotypeimaging.com) 93
NStar (www.nstaronline.com) 92
American Science and Engineering (www.as-e.com) 92
Bitstream (www.bitstream.com) 92
VistaPrint Ltd. (www.vistaprint.com) 91
UniFirst Corp. (www.unifirst.co) 91
PerkinElmer (www.perkinelmer.com) 91
Sonesta International Hotels Corp. (www.sonesta.com) 91
Hittite Microwave Corp. (www.hittite.com) 91
Double-Take Software (www.doubletake.com) 91
iRobot Corp. (www.irobot.com) 91
Parexel International Corp. (www.parexel.com) 90
Waters Corp. (www.waters.com) 90
SeaChange International (www.schange.com) 90
Independent Bank Corp. (www.rocklandtrust.com) 90
Millipore Corp. (www.millipore.com) 89
Genzyme Corp. (www.genzyme.com) 89
Aspect Medical Systems (www.aspectmedical.com) 89
Eaton Vance Corp. (www.eatonvance.com) 89
Aware (www.aware.com) 89
Safety Insurance Group (www.safetyinsurance.com) 89
CRA International (www.crai.com) 88
Clean Harbors (www.cleanharbors.com) 87
Thermo Fisher Scientific (www.fishersci.com) 87
Varian Semiconductor Equipment (www.vsea.com) 86
Berkshire Hills Bancorp (www.berkshirebank.com) 85
Boston Beer Co. (www.bostonbeer.com) 85
Skyworks Solutions (www.skyworksinc.com) 84
Phase Forward (www.phaseforward.com) 84
Harvard Bioscience (www.harvardbioscience.com) 84
Brookline Bancorp (www.brooklinebank.com) 84
Cognex Corp. (www.cognex.com)  83
Cubist Pharmaceuticals (www.cubist.com) 82
Sepracor (www.sepracor.com) 82
Cabot Corp. (www.cabot-corp.com) 82
Hanover Insurance Group (www.hanover.com) 82
Chicopee Bancorp (www.chicopeesavings.com) 82
L.S. Starrett Co. (www.starrett.com) 81
Alkermes (www.alkermes.com) 80
Five Star Quality Care (www.5sqc.com) 80
American Tower Corp. ( www.americantower.com) 79
State Street Corp. (www.statestreet.com) 78
IPG Photonics Corp. (www.ipgphotonics.com) 78
UFP Technologies (www.ufpt.com) 78
Repligen Corp. (www.repligen.com) 78
Beacon Roofing Supply (www.beaconroofingsupply.com) 77
Hingham Institution for Savings (www.hinghamsavings.com) 77
Affiliated Managers Group (www.amg.com) 77
TJX Cos. (www.tjx.com) 75
Interactive Data Corp. (www.interactivedata.com) 75
Haemonetics Corp. (www.haemonetics.com) 75
Altra Holdings (www.altramotion.com) 74
United Financial Bancorp (www.bankatunited.com) 73
Wainwright Bank & Trust Co. (www.wainwrightbank.com) 73
Valpey Fisher Corp. (www.valpeyfisher.com) 72
Starent Networks Corp. (www.starentnetworks.com) 71
Biogen IDEC (www.biogenidec.com) 71
Cynosure (www.cynosurelaser.com) 71
HRPT Properties Trust (www.hrpreit.com) 70
Senior Housing Properties Trust (www.snhreit.com) 69
Watts Water Technologies (www.wattswater.com) 69
Datawatch Corp. (www.datawatch.com) 69
Mac-Gray Corp. (www.macgray.com) 68
Century Bancorp (www.century-bank.com) 67
Benjamin Franklin Bancorp (www.benfranklinbank.com) 67
Enterprise Bancorp (www.enterprisebankandtrust.com) 67
Analogic Corp. (www.analogic.com) 65
Acme Packet (www.acmepacket.com) 65
Arrhythmia Research Technology (www.arthrt.com) 64
Westfield Financial (www.westfieldbank.com) 63
Hospitality Properties Trust (www.hptreit.com) 62
Legacy Bancorp (www.legacybancorp.com) 60
Boston Properties (www.bostonproperties.com) 60
Bruker Corp. (www.bruker-biosciences.com) 59
Psychemedics Corp. (www.psychemedics.com) 59
MKS Instruments (www.mksinstruments.com) 59
Steinway Musical Instruments (www.steinwaymusical.com) 58
CSP (www.cspi.com) 56
Global Partners (www.globalp.com) 51
Anika Therapeutics (www.anikatherapeutics.com) 46
Tech/Ops Sevcon (www.sevcon.com) 45
Chase Corp. (www.chasecorp.com) 43
Franklin Street Properties (www.franklinstreetproperties.com) 41
Atlantic Tele-Network (www.atni.com) 40
MicroFinancial (www.microfinancial.com) 33

Globe 100 Rank versus WSG Score Trend Chart

Website Grader Score for Globe 100 Companies

Search Engine Optimization Kit

Learn more about how you can optimize your site to rank higher in search engines so you get found by more qualified prospects.

Download our search engine optimization kit.

Originally published May 21, 2009 8:26:00 AM, updated October 01 2019

Topics:

SEO