Instagram doesn't always make us feel our best. While the photo-sharing platform encourages creativity and has become a powerful tool for brands, usage of the app has also been connected to increased levels of anxiety and depression among young people.

If you've finally tired of Instagram's endless stream of FOMO-inducing vacation pics, slime videos, and former Bachelor contestants selling hair vitamins, this quick guide will walk you through temporarily disabling or deleting your account for good.Access Now: 22 Free Business Instagram Templates

Before you proceed, keep in mind that deleting your account cannot be undone. Once you move forward, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will all be permanently removed from the app. 

If you'd rather just take a break and temporarily disable your account, follow the steps below instead. Temporarily disabling your account means that your profile, photos, videos, comments, and likes will all be hidden until you reactivate your account by logging back into Instagram.

New Call-to-action

 New Call-to-action

Originally published Mar 20, 2018 7:00:00 AM, updated June 10 2021

Topics:

Productivity Free Marketing Software